Did you know – the British flag combines the flags of England (St. George), Scotland (St. Andrew), and N. Ireland (St. Patrick)?

“Fun Facts Saturday”
In Honor of the Recent Passing of Queen Elizabeth II

Creation of the British “Union Jack” Flag

The British “Union Jack” flag is a combination of the 3 flags of England (Saint George Cross), Scotland (Saint Andrew Cross), and Northern Ireland (Saint Patrick Cross). (When the Union Jack flag was created, Wales was not a separate “country,” and so the yellow and black Saint David Cross was not included. Yellow and black would not go well with red, white, and blue.)

Saint David Cross Flag of Wales

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s