My Dream Day Driving for Hertz

“Fun Facts Saturday”

One summer during college, I worked for Hertz Rent-a-Car as a “car transporter.”

1973 Mustang Mach 1

Most days, I spent at Orange County Airport

When cars were returned, I drove them across McArthur to the Chevron station to get gas, and check the oil and tires. I then drove the cars through a car wash.

Occasionally, I was assigned to transport a car to another airport or Hertz office. My favorite day was a three-car swap.

1973 Cadillac Coupe DeVille

I first drove a new Mustang Mach 1 from OC Airport to LAX. I then drove a new Cadillac Coupe DeVille from LAX to Palm Springs Airport.  Finally, I drove a new Lincoln Continental Coupe back to OC Airport.

I was in car heaven. I felt guilty getting a pay check – almost.  I spent the day playing with air conditioning, power seats, cruise control, surround sound, and the latest luxury gadgets.   

I then drove home in my cheap old used Plymouth sedan.

1973 Lincoln Continental Coupe

Leave a comment