First 12 “Hymns for Home and Church,” and the tragedy behind “It is Well with my Soul.”

“Sunday Sermon” (On Thursday)

12 “New” Hymns

The church just announced the first 12 hymns for “Hymns for Home and Church.” They are:

  • 1001 – Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing (back by popular demand)
  • 1002 – When the Savior Comes Again
  • 1003 – It is Well with My Soul
  • 1004 – I Will Walk with Jesus
  • 1005 – His Eye is on the Sparrow
  • 1006 – Think a Sacred Song
  • 1007 – As Bread Is Broken
  • 1008 – Bread of Life, Living Water
  • 1009 – Gethsemane
  • 1010 – Hail the Day that Sees Him Rise
  • 1011 – He Is Born, the Divine Christ Child
  • 1012 – What Child Is This?
  • 1013 – Star Bright

“It Is Well with My Soul”/”When Peace, Like a River”

The greatest literature, art, and music comes from “the human heart in conflict with itself.” (William Faulkner, 1950 Nobel Acceptance Speech)

It Is Well with My Soul,” also known as “When Peace, Like a River” was penned by Horatio Spafford (1828—1888).

Horatio was a successful lawyer and property developer in Chicago.  He was financially ruined by the Great Chicago Fire of 1871.  His renewed business interests took another downturn in 1873.

Horatio decided to “get away from it all, ” and sail to England, with his family, to help with D.L Moody’s upcoming evangelistic campaigns. However, Horatio was delayed by business complications, and he decided to send his wife and four daughters ahead on the SS Ville du Havre.  While crossing the Atlantic, the ship collided with another vessel, and quickly sank. His wife survived, but all four of his daughters drowned.  

Horatio immediately sailed to England to be with his grieving wife.  As his ship passed the spot where all four of his daughters had died, he penned the famous hymn. He named it Ville de Havre.  (2023 was the 150th anniversary of the song)

It Is Well with My Soul

When peace like a river, attendeth my way
When sorrows like sea billows roll
Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say
It is well, it is well, with my soul

It is well
With my soul
It is well, it is well with my soul

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come
Let this blest assurance control
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate
And hath shed His own blood for my soul

It is well (it is well)
With my soul (with my soul)
It is well, it is well with my soul

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, o my soul!

It is well (it is well)
With my soul (with my soul)
It is well, it is well with my soul

It is well (it is well)
With my soul (with my soul)
It is well, it is well with my soul.

(See: “Horatio Spafford,” “It Is Well with my Soul,” Wikipedia)

Leave a comment